“You have to leave the city of your comfort and go into the wilderness of your intuition. What you’ll discover will be wonderful. What you’ll discover is yourself.” -Alan Alda

Hey guys! I’ve been given the task the past two weeks to create a video that I feel represents by website. I knew going into it that this would take so much more time than I could think. Being a perfectionist, every time I watch it there is something I wish I could change. Eventually, I had to say enough is enough. So here it is!

So now that you’ve watched it, do you see what I mean? The few glitches that you probably noticed weren’t recognizable until I had uploaded the video to Youtube, so I was very bummed that it was too late to fix. I used Final Cut Pro to generate this video. For the most part, it worked very smoothly! Aside from the resulting glitches, the program just takes practice, and lots of patience to perfect! Between rendering and finding the perfect transitions and filters, it would be easy to get stressed if you don’t know the program well. So you can get a glimpse of what it was like, I’ve posted a screenshot of my timeline on the Final Cut Pro program, as well as the story board I created using Storyboard That to organize my vision for the video.

screen-shot-2017-02-23-at-1-45-42-pm
Gagnon, E. (2016, February 23). Timeline [Screenshot].
wildermiss-video-highres
Gagnon, E. (2016, February 23). Storyboard [png]. Retrieved from https://www.storyboardthat.com/storyboards/emilygagnon/wildermiss-video
Aside from the technicalities of the video-making process, I feel that this video gives a good visual of what I am trying to convey in my website. All of the footage was taken by myself and a few clips from my brother (no worries, I got his permission to use them). To you, these clips might look pretty, but to me, these clips contain countless memories with friends, family, and myself. They are collected from many vacations and excursions over the years. I was so happy that I finally had a reason and the right technology to create a video with some of this footage! In reference to Alan Alda’s quote I featured above – in the moments from the video, I got away from the city. I discovered wonderful things. I discovered something new about myself each of those trips. It doesn’t take much to get out and enjoy this great, big, beautiful world we live in.

Let’s go outdoors!

 

